Review: Honey Stinger Energy Chews Pink Lemonade

Alright so let’s get this review started. This was supposed to be posted on Saturday, June 3rd but I was off on vacation and couldn’t really be bothered with making a review. But now I’m back and ready to provide you all with another running related product. As always, I took this about 15 minutes before my warmup for a workout (if you want to know the details of the workout just comment and I’ll gladly make a post about it).

Honey Stinger Pink Lemonade

The Review

Let me start this out by saying that I love Honey Stinger products. I’ve had a few of them in the past and they have always have been some of the better tasting running related nutrition products that I have ever had. This had me pretty excited to try out the Honey Stinger Pink Lemonade chews, because you can’t really go wrong with pink lemonade.

Honey Stinger Pink Lemonade Nutrition Facts

Upon opening the package these oddly looked like giant fish eggs. They were a little slick to the touch as well and I could see these getting a little sticky in a hot or sweaty environment such as a race.

Honey Stinger Pink Lemonade Fruit Chews

Texture wise I was a little surprised. Maybe it’s because I’m not used to the texture of “sport chews”. The only way that I could describe it was that it was almost like a thicker Jell-O texture. It wasn’t necessarily chewy like you would find a fruit snack. This made it surprisingly easy to chew these and I could definitely see that being a pretty big benefit during a race when you don’t want to be worrying about chewing something.

Honey Stinger Pink Lemonade Fruit Chew Inside

Taste wise these were pretty fantastic. The taste was very nice and sweet, no unpleasant flavors that I could pick up anywhere while I tried these. You can definitely tell where Honey Stinger was going with the Pink Lemonade flavor, I think they hit the target right on.

Also I should say that having a sensitive stomach put me a little on edge trying these before a workout. Gels I am usually okay with but I was nervous about trying something that feels actually more like a food. However, my stomach felt fine during the entirety of the workout and I had no problems whatsoever.

I’m going to give this product a solid 8/10. It’s a nice product with some good flavor to it. The only problem that I could foresee is during races I could see these getting really sticky, so that’s something to be wary of. However, if you are the kind of person that prefers to have chews during your races instead of gels, I would say go for it.

Questions, comments, concerns, recommendations for future reviews? Leave a comment.

 

Leave a Reply

